Anston cum Membris Yorkshire Family History Guide

Anston cum Membris is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1736 from Laughton en le Morthen Ancient Parish. 

Alternative names: Anston

Other places in the parish include: Woolsetts, South Anston, North Anston, and Membris. 

Riding: West Riding

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1544
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1598

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist

Adjacent Parishes

  • Wales
  • Todwick
  • Treeton
  • Thorpe Salvin
  • Carlton in Lindrick
  • Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert
  • Harthill
  • Dinnington
  • Woodsetts

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

ANSTON, a township, a parish, and a subdistrict, in the district of Worksop, and W. R. Yorkshire. The township lies on the Chesterfield canal, about 1 mile N of Kiveton Park r. station, and 10 ESE of Sheffield; is divided into North and South Auston; and has a post office, of the name of South Auston, under Rotherham. Pop., 1,126. Houses, 237. The parish is called Anston cum-Membris; and includes also the township of Woodsetts. Acres, 4,490. Real property, exclusive of Woodsetts, £4,820. Pop., 1,290. Houses, 279. The property is divided among a few. Nail-making and starch making are carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £280. Patron, the Archbishop of York. The church is good. The subdistrict comprises seven parishes. Acres, 16,580. Pop., 3,222. Houses, 679.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Debtors Prison

The people listed below were sent to the debtors prison.

John Edeson late of Auston near Rotherham Yorkshire Miller In the Gaol of York - The London Gazette Saturday the 25th day of January 1851


County: Yorkshire
Civil Registration District: Worksop
Probate Court: Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen
Diocese: York
Rural Deanery: Doncaster
Poor Law Union: Worksop
Hundred: Strafforth and Tickhill
Province: York