Worcester Cathedral is located in the city of Worcester in the county of Worcestershire. It is the seat of the Diocese of Worcester.

Alternative names: Worcester Christ and Blessed Virgin Mary, Worcester St Mary

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1693
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1702

Nonconformists include:

Adjacent Parishes

Cathedral – Worcester Places of Worship Littleburys Worcester Directory 1905

Diocese of Worcester

Lord Bishop of Worcester –The Right Rev. Huyshe Wolcott Yeatman-Briggs, D.D. Residence – Hartlebury Castle, near Kidderminster.
Archdeacons. – The Ven. William Walters, M.A., of Worcester Archdeaconry; The Ven. William Bree, D.D., of Coventry Archdeaconry.
Chancellor. – The Worshipful John S. Dugdale, M.A., K.C.
Diocesan Registrar. – J. H. Hooper, M.A., N.P.
Secretary to the Bishop. – J. H. Hooper, M.A.
Principal Surrogate. – Rev. Richard Thursfield, M.A.
Junior Surrogate. – Rev. H. H. Woodward, M.A., MUS. BAC.
Diocesan Surveyors. – A. Hill Parker, F.R.I.B.A., Architect, and Edward Mansell, Architect and Surveyor.

Places of Worship

The Cathedral

On Sundays the Early Celebration of Holy Communion is at 8 a.m.; Matins with Sermon at 10.30 a.m.; Choral Celebration of Holy Communion at 11.30 a.m.; Litany, followed by the Children’s Service at 3 p.m.; Evensong in the Choir at 4 p.m.; Evensong with Sermon in the Nave at 6.30 p.m.
On Week-days the Early Celebration of Holy Communion is at 8 a.m.; Matins at 10.15; Evensong at 4.15.
The Cathedral is open to the Public daily from 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. in the Summer, and 4 p.m. during the winter.


The Very Rev. Robert William Forest, D.D.


Rev. William John Knox Little, M.A.
Rev. Thomas Legh Claughton, M.A.
Rev. Thomas Teignmouth Shore, M.A.
Rev. James Maurice Wilson, D.D.

Honary Canons

Rev. J. R. T. Eaton, M.A.
Rev. H. G. Pepys, M.A.
Rev. C. A. Dickins, M.A.
Rev. H. W. Coventry, M.A.
Rev. the Hon. Henry Douglas, M.A.
Rev. J. T. Thorn, M.A.
Rev. W. Eliot, M.A.
Rev. E. A. Waller, M.A.
Rev. E. J. Houghton, M.A.
Rev. F. M. Beaumont, M.A.
Rev. E. H. Perowne, D.D.
Rev. A. S. Porter, M.A., F.S.A.
Rev. Francis Gell, M.A.
Rev. R. Thurston Rivington, M.A.
Rev. T. A. Blyth, D.D.
Rev. W. R. Carr, M.A.
Rev. William Flory
Rev. Raymond P. Pelly, M.A.
Rev. Robert Rashleigh Duke, M.A.
Rev. D. Robertson, M.A.
Rev. J. H. Greig, M.A.

Minor Canons

Rev. H. H. Woodward, M.A., MUS. BAC.
Rev. C. T. Powell, M.A.
Rev. H. S. Chignell, B.A.
Rev. A. A. Phelips, M.A.
Precentor – Rev. H. M. Woodward, M.A., MUS. BAC.
Sacrist – Rev. Charles T. Powell, M.A.
Chapter Clerk – J. H. Hooper, M.A.
Head Master of the King’s School – Rev. W. Haighton Chappel, M.A.
Librarian – Rev. H. S. Chignell, B.A.
Organist – Ivor A. Atkins, MUS. BAC. (Oxon), F.R.C.O.
Custos – John Hammerton
Source: Littlebury’s Directory of Worcester & District. Tenth Edition. Printed and Published by Littlebury & Company, The Worcester Press, Worcester. 1905.

Worcester Cathedral Registers

The Register of Worcester Cathederal, 1693-1811 – PDF


Worcester Cathedral Registers 1732 to 1812


  • County: Worcestershire
  • Civil Registration District: Worcester
  • Probate Court: Court of the Dean and Chapter of Worcester
  • Diocese: Worcester
  • Rural Deanery: Not Applicable
  • Poor Law Union: Worcester
  • Hundred: Worcester Borough
  • Province: Canterbury

Similar Posts