East Grafton, Wiltshire Family History Guide

East Grafton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Wiltshire, created in 1844 from chapelry in Great Bedwyn Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Wilton, Wexcombe, and West Grafton.

Alternative names: Grafton

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1844
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1844

Nonconformists include:

Adjacent Parishes

  • Collingbourne Kingston
  • Burbage
  • Tidcombe and Fosbury
  • Shalbourne
  • Great Bedwyn

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

GRAFTON (East), a tything and a chapelry in Great Bedwin parish, Wilts. The tything lies near the Kennet and Avon canal, about 3 miles SSE of Savernake r. station, and 6½ N of Ludgershall. The chapelry was constituted in 1844; and it has a post office under Marlborough. Rated property, £4,887. Pop., 1,011. Houses, 195. The property is divided among three. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Salisbury. Value, £115. Patron, the vicar of Great Bedwin. The church was built in 1842; is an elegant edifice in the Norman style, with a north-western tower; and has a memorial window, put up in 1856, to the late Marquis of Ailesbury.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Vision of Britain historical maps


County: Wiltshire
Civil Registration District: Hungerford
Probate Court: Court of the Peculiar of the Lord Warden of Savemake Forest
Diocese: Salisbury
Rural Deanery: Marlborough
Poor Law Union: Hungerford
Hundred: Kinwardstone
Province: Canterbury