The County of Montgomeryshire

Montgomeryshire in North Wales, is bounded, North by Denbighshire, East and North-east by Shropshire, South-east by Radnorshire, South-west by Cardiganshire, and West by Merionethshire. It is about 35 miles long, and about 30 miles broad, and is divided into nine Hundreds; namely, Cawrse, Denddwr, Llanfyllin, Llanidloes, Machynlleth, Mathrafel, Montgomery, Newton, and Pool. Rivers: the Traeth-bach, the Maw, and the Dovey. It has 7 Market-Towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, in the Diocese of Bangor, and in the Northern Circuit. Population, 69,219.

Source:¬†Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Montgomeryshire Towns & Villages

View full post…

Read Me

Welshpool Beeton’s British Gazetteer 1870

Welshpool, a municipal and parliamentary borough and market and post town of N. Wales, in Montgomeryshire, 7 miles N. from Montgomery. It forms part of the Montgomery district of boroughs. The town consists principally of one long, wide, and spacious street, built on a gentle ascent, and contains two churches, some chapels for nonconformists, a county-hall with a corn market beneath, and a large assembly-room, which is also used as a mart for the Welsh flannels. Powis Castle, the seat of the Right Honourable Viscount Clive, is in the neighbourhood; and Offa’s Dyke, the ancient boundary between England and Wales, runs along the opposite bank of the Severn, at a short distance from the town. Several spots in the vicinity are distinguished as the sites of ancient battles. Manf. Welsh flannels, which are chiefly made in Newtown, Llanidloes, and the upper parts of the county, where their manufacture affords employment to most of the population; but they are all brought down to Welshpool by the manufacturers, where a market for these fabrics is held on every alternate Thursday. The river Severn is navigable to Pool Quay, about 3 miles below Welshpool. Mar. D. Mon. and Thurs. Pop. of mun. bor. 7304; of parl. bor. 5004. It is the terminus of the Shrewsbury and Welshpool line of the Cambrian and West Coast Railway.

Source:¬†Beeton’s British Gazetteer 1870. Ward, Lock & Tyler, Paternoster Row, London.

Read Me