Situation of Glamorgan within Wales

A maritime county of South Wales, bounded, North by Brecknockshire and part of Carmarthenshire, East by Monmouthshire, South by the Bristol Channel, and West by Carmarthenshire. It is about 48 miles long, and about 28 miles broad, and is divided into eleven Hundreds, namely, Caerphilly, Cowbridge, Dinas, Powis, Kibber, Llangwelack, Miskin, Neath, Newcastle, Ogmore, and Swansea. Rivers: the Rhymny, the Taff, the Ogmore, the Avon, the Neath, and the Tavey. It has 10 Market-Towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, in the Diocese of Llandaff, and in the Southern Circuit. Population, 171,188.

Source:┬áLeonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

Glamorgan Towns & Parishes