Situation of Flintshire within Wales

In North Wales, is bounded, North by the Irish Sea, North-East by the Dee, East by Cheshire, and South and South-West by Denbighshire. It is about 27 miles in length, and 10 in breadth; and is divided into five Hundreds — Coleshill, Maylor, Mold, Prestayn, and Rhyddlan. Rivers: the Dee, the Clwyd, the Alun, the Terrig, the Wheler, and the Elwy. It has four Market-Towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, in the Dioceses of St. Asaph and Chester, and in the Northern Circuit. Population, 66,919.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

Flintshire Towns & Parishes