Last updated on September 9th, 2017

Map of Wales after the Laws in Wales Acts
Map of Wales after the Laws in Wales Acts

Wales is a mountainous tract of land on the western coast of England; bounded, West by the Atlantic, North by the Irish Channel, South by the British Channel, and East by the counties of Monmouth, Shropshire, Hereford, and Chester; being in length about 155 miles, and in breadth about 65. It contains 7,425 square miles, or 4,762,000 acres; and has 68 Market-Towns. It contains the four Bishoprics or St. David’s, Llandaff, Bangor, and St. Asaph, the greater part being in the Province or Canterbury, and with Chester forms two Circuits, called the Northern Circuit and the Southern Circuit.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

The Counties of Wales