The County of Sussex

Sussex is bounded, North by Surrey and Kent, East by Kent, South by the English Channel, and West by Hampshire. It is 70 miles long, and 28 miles broad; and is divided into six Rapes: namely, Arundel, Bramber, Chichester, Hastings, Lewes, Pevensey. Rivers: the Arun, the Adur, the Ouse, the Rother, the Rye, and the Cockmere. It has 18 Market-Towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, and partly in that Diocese, but mostly in the Diocese of Chichester, and it is in the Home Circuit. It contains 1463 square miles, or 936,320 acres. Population, 299,753.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Sussex Towns & Villages