Southwark St Stephen Surrey Family History Guide

Southwark St Stephen is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Surrey, created in 1849 from Southwark St George the Martyr Ancient Parish and Southwark St Mary Ecclesiastical Parish.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1850
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: None

Nonconformists include:

Adjacent Parishes

  • Southwark St Mary
  • Southwark Holy Trinity
  • Bermondsey St Mary Magdalen
  • Southwark St George the Martyr
  • Bermondsey St Paul

Historical Descriptions

See Southwark Surrey Family History Guide

Parish Records


Online Records (Free)

England, Surrey Parish Registers, 1536-1992


Vision of Britain historical maps


County: Surrey
Civil Registration District: St George Southwark
Probate Court: Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey, Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Diocese: Pre-1846 - Winchester, Post-1845 - London
Rural Deanery: Pre-1846 - Southwark, Post-1845 - None
Poor Law Union: Southwark St George the Martyr
Hundred: Southwark Borough
Province: Canterbury