Southwark Christchurch Surrey Family History Guide

Southwark Christchurch is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Surrey, created in 1670 from Paris Garden Liberty.

Alternative names: Christ Church, Christchurch Southwark

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1671
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1800

Nonconformists include:

Adjacent Parishes

  • St Bride
  • Holy Trinity Gough Square
  • St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars
  • Bridewell
  • Southwark St Peter
  • Whitefriars
  • Lambeth St Thomas
  • Lambeth St Andrew
  • Southwark St George the Martyr
  • Southwark St Saviour

Historical Descriptions

See Southwark Surrey Family History Guide

Parish Records


Online Records (Free)

England, Surrey Parish Registers, 1536-1992


Vision of Britain historical maps


County: Surrey
Civil Registration District: St Saviour Southwark
Probate Court: Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey, Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Diocese: Pre-1846 - Winchester, Post-1845 - London
Rural Deanery: Pre-1846 - Southwark, Post-1845 - None
Poor Law Union: St Savior's
Hundred: Southwark Borough
Province: Canterbury