Brierley Hill, Staffordshire Family History Guide

Brierley Hill is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1842 from Kingswinford Ancient Parish.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1766

Nonconformists include: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Particular Baptist, Primitive Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Parishes adjacent to Brierley Hill

  • Amblecote
  • Lye
  • Quarry Bank
  • Dudley St Thomas
  • Pensnett
  • Kingswinford
  • Brockmoor

Historical Descriptions

The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales 1851

Brierley-Hill, a chapelry in the parish of Kingswinford, northern division of the hund, of Seisdon, county of Stafford; 2 miles north-north east of Stourbridge, in the vicinity of the Stafford and Birmingham canal. Living, a perpetual curacy in the archd. of Stafford and dio. of Lichfield and Coventry, not in charge; rated in the parliamentary returns at £55 17s. 6d.; gross income £97. Patron, in 1835, the Rev. Dr. Penfold. In the vicinity are many collieries and extensive iron-works where steam-boilers are made. Pop. is returned with the parish.

Source: The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales; A Fullarton & Co. Glasgow; 1851

A Topographical Dictionary of Great Britain and Ireland 1833

Brierley Hill, co. Worcester.

P.T. Stourbridge (122) 2 m. NNE. Pop. with Pa.

A hamlet and chapelry in the parish of King’s Swinford and hundred of Seisdon; living, a perpetual curacy in the archdeaconry and diocese of Worcester, not in charge; ann. val. P. R. 55l. 17s. 6d.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of Great Britain and Ireland by John Gorton. The Irish and Welsh articles by G. N. Wright; Vol. I; London; Chapman and Hall, 186, Strand; 1833.


  • County: Staffordshire
  • Civil Registration District: Stourbridge
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Lichfield
  • Rural Deanery: Himley
  • Poor Law Union: Stourbridge
  • Hundred: North Seisdon
  • Province: Canterbury