Stowe Shropshire Family History Guide

Stowe is an Ancient Parish in the county of Shropshire.
Other places in the parish include: Weston.
Parish church: St. Michael
Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1576
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1603

Nonconformists include: Primitive Methodist

Adjacent Parishes

  • Clun
  • Llanfair Waterdine
  • Bucknell
  • Stanage
  • Knighton

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

STOWE, a parish in the district of Knighton and county of Salop; 2 miles NE of Knighton r. station. Post town, Knighton, Radnorshire. Acres, 2,724. Rated property, £1,582. Pop., 161. Houses, 36. The property is divided among a few. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Hereford. Value, £188. Patron, the Lord Chancellor.
Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Parish Records

FamilySearch - Birth Marriage & Death Census Migration & Naturalization Military Probate & Court

Poll Books

Stowe Shropshire Poll Book 1865


Vision of Britain historical maps


County: Shropshire
Civil Registration District: Knighton
Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Diocese: Hereford
Rural Deanery: Clun
Poor Law Union: Knighton
Hundred: Purslow
Province: Canterbury