Neen Savage is an Ancient Parish in the county of Shropshire.

Alternative names: Nyend Savage

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1575

Nonconformists include:

Parishes adjacent to Neen Savage

Parish History

Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Circa 1870

NEEN-SAVAGE, a parish, with a village, in Cleobury-Mortimer district, Salop; on the river Rea, 1 mile N of Cleobury-Mortimer, and 2 N of Cleobury-Mortimer r. station. Post-town, Cleobury-Mortimer, under Bewdley. Acres, 3,779. Real property, £4,376. Pop., 452. Houses, 98. The property is much subdivided. Paper is manufactured. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Hereford. Value, £394. Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is ancient but good; and has a tower, formerly surmounted by a spire, which was destroyed by lightning in 1825. There are an endowed school with £24 a-year, and charities £16.
Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Shropshire Gazetteer 1824

Neen Savage or Nyend Savage. A parish in the Cleobury division of the hundred of Stottesden, a vicarage remaining in charge, in the diocese of Hereford, the deanery of Stottesden, and archdeaconry of Salop. 87 houses, 485 inhabitants. 1 mile north of Cleobury Mortimer.
Source: The Shropshire Gazetteer, with an Appendix, including a Survey of the County and Valuable Miscellaneous Information, with Plates. Printed and Published by T. Gregory, Wem, 1824

Parish Registers

The Register of Neen Savage 1575-1812

Shropshire Parish Registers Diocese of Hereford Vol. XVII (1920)
Author: Shropshire Parish Register Society; Shropshire Parish Register Society
General editor; 1900-1906, W.P.W. Phillimore; 1907- W.G.D. Fletcher
Publisher: [London] : Privately printed for the Shropshire Parish Register Society.

Parish Records


England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Cemeteries ( 2 )
Monumental inscriptions of Neen Savage, Shropshire, 1726-1797 : exterior of church only
Author: Sims, Josephine A.

Monumental inscriptions of St. Mary’s Church, Neen Savage, Shropshire, 1726-1984
Author: Berry, Pat; Neen Savage Womens Institute (Shropshire)

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Census ( 1 )
Census returns for Neen-Savage, 1841-1891
Author: Great Britain. Census Office

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Church records ( 4 )
Bishop’s transcripts for Neen-Savage, 1638-1858
Author: Church of England. Parish Church of Neen-Savage (Shropshire)

Parish chest records, 1710-1864
Author: Neen-Savage (Shropshire)

Parish registers for Neen-Savage, 1575-1900
Author: Church of England. Parish Church of Neen-Savage (Shropshire)

Registers of Neen Savage

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Church records – Indexes ( 1 )
Computer printout of Neen Savage, Shrops., Eng

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – History ( 1 )
N is for Neen Savage
Author: Shropshire Rambler

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Poorhouses, poor law, etc. ( 1 )
Parish chest records, 1710-1864
Author: Neen-Savage (Shropshire)

England, Shropshire, Neen-Savage – Schools ( 1 )
Admission register, 1846-1949
Author: Neen-Savage Church of England School (Shropshire)

FamilySearch – Birth Marriage & Death Census Migration & Naturalization Military Probate & Court

Poll Books

Neen Savage, Shropshire, Poll Book 1865

Below are the names of those that voted in the election of July 1865 between Col. The Hon. P. E. Herbert, Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., and R. Jasper More, Esq.

Poll Book of the Election, July 1865 for the Southern Division of Shropshire.

Cleobury Mortimer Polling District

Neen Savage— Parish of

1618 Baker Thomas Barwick Lloyd

1619 Bowen Richard

1620 Clifton John Hill

1621 Cocks Charles Richard Somers

1622 Corbett Michael

1623 Dorrell James

1624 Dorrell John

1625 Hall Thomas Lambert

1626 Hall Thomas Lambert, jun.

1627 Jones William Weaver, see 1479

1628 Keysell Herbert

1629 Meredith Joseph

1630 Perry William Bullock

1631 Reynolds Thomas, jun.

1632 Wheeler George

1633 Wheeler Joseph

1634 Worrall Thomas

1635 Worrall John

1636 Weyer John


  • County: Shropshire
  • Civil Registration District: Cleobury Mortimer
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Hereford
  • Rural Deanery: Stottesdon
  • Poor Law Union: Cleobury Mortimer
  • Hundred: Stottesdon
  • Province: Canterbury

Similar Posts