Farlow, Shropshire Family History Guide

Farlow is a chapelry of Stottesdon Ancient Parish in Shropshire constituted in 1854.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1813

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist

Parishes adjacent to Farlow

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

FARLOW, a township and a chapelry in Stottesden parish, Salop. The township lies near the river Rea, 5½ miles NW by N of Cleobury-Mortimer r. station, and 8½ NNE of Tenbury. Post town, Stottesden, under Bewdley. Acres, 1, 483. Real property, £1, 098. Pop., 304. Houses, 71. The chapelry is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1854. Pop., 593. Houses, 132. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Hereford. Value, £130. Patron, the Duke of Cleveland. The church is Norman; and there is a Wesleyan chapel.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

A Topographical Dictionary of England 1845

FARLOW, a chapelry, in the parish of Stottesden, union of Cleobury-Mortimer, hundred of Wolphy, county of Hereford, 5¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Cleobury-Mortimer; containing 361 inhabitants. The chapelry consists of a long and narrow detached slip of ground, wholly surrounded by the county of Salop, to the southern division of which it is annexed for electoral purposes; it comprises 1189 acres. The chapel, which is dedicated to St. Giles, is endowed with the rectorial tithes, and has been rebuilt.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis Fifth Edition Published London; by S. Lewis and Co., 13, Finsbury Place, South. M. DCCC. XLV.

Poll Books

Farlow, Shropshire, Poll Book 1865

Below are the names of those that voted in the election of July 1865 between Col. The Hon. P. E. Herbert, Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., and R. Jasper More, Esq.

Poll Book of the Election, July 1865 for the Southern Division of Shropshire.

Cleobury Mortimer Polling District

Farlow— Parish of

1545 Adams Thomas

1546 Anslow James

1547 Dalloway John

1548 Lane James

1549 Maddison Rev. Charles John, see 1723

1550 Potts George

1551 Reynolds Thomas

1552 Trow Adam Prattinton, see 1498

1553 Williams Rev. John Davies



Farlow Cassey Shropshire Directory 1871

Farlow is a chapelry, fourteen miles south-west from Kidderminster, ten from Ludlow, and four from Cleobury Mortimer, in the Southern division of the county, Cleobury division of Stottesden hundred, Cleobury Mortimer union, and diocese of Hereford. Farlow was part of Herefordshire until October, 1844, when it became for all purposes part of Shropshire, under the Acts 2 and 3 William IV., c. 64, and 7 and 8 Vic., c. 61. The church of st. Giles is a stone building, erected in 1858, in the Early English style. The benefice is a vicarage, endowed with £100 a year rent-charge from Stottesden, together with the glebe lands belonging to the ancient chapelry of Farlow; the Duke of Cleveland is patron. Here is a school, and a charity left by J. Botfield, amounting to £24 yearly. The Wesleyan Methodists have a chapel here. Thomas Woodward, Esq., is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The soil is clay; subsoil, gravel and rock. The area is 2,672 acres, and the population in 1861 was 304; gross estimated rental, £1,224; rateable value, £1,111.
Letters are received through Bewdley via Cleobury Mortimer. Cleobury Mortimer is the nearest money order office.
Parochial School, Miss Matilda Ann Briggs, mistress.

Williams Rev. John David, B.A. (Vicar)
Anslow James, blacksmith
Bowen Thomas, tailor
Bowen John, farmer, Botany bay
Bray Thomas, farmer and registrar of births and deaths
Dalloway John, farmer and miller
Downton Richard, shoe maker
Garbett John, cowkeeper
George William, farmer
Harris William, beer retailer
Haycocks Geo. wheelwright & carpenter
Jones John, shoe maker
Jones John, farmer, Down farm
Lane James, farmer
Martin John, wheelwright
Palmer Thomas, cowkeeper and coal dealer
Preene Thomas, builder
Price James, wheelwright
Stokes Charles, Gate Hangs Well Inn, and shopkeeper
Whale Wm. farmer and overseer
Yapp John, farmer
Source: Edward Cassey & Co’s, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Shropshire 1871


  • County: Shropshire
  • Civil Registration District: Cleobury Mortimer
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Hereford
  • Rural Deanery: Stottesdon
  • Poor Law Union: Cleobury Mortimer
  • Hundred: Stottesdon
  • Province: Canterbury