Boraston is a chapelry of Burford Ancient Parish in Shropshire.

Alternative names: Buraston-with-Whetmore, Buraston and Boreaston

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: None

Nonconformists include: None

Parishes adjacent to Boraston

Historical Descriptions

Buraston-with-Whetmore Shropshire The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales 1851

Buraston-with-Whetmore, a township in the parish of Burford, hund. of Overs, county of Salop; 2 miles north-east of Tenbury, in the vicinity of the Leominster canal. A chapel-of-ease has been erected here. Pop., in 1801, 291; in 1821, 226. Houses and acres with the parish. A. P. £1,587. Poor rates, in 1837, £98.

Source: The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales; A Fullarton & Co. Glasgow; 1851

Buraston with Whetmore Shropshire Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England 1845

Buraston, with Whetmore, a chapelry, in the parish of Burford, union of Tenbury, hundred of Overs, S. division of Salop, 1¾ mile (N. E.) from Tenbury; containing 223 inhabitants. The Kington canal passes on the southern side of the village.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis Fifth Edition Published London; by S. Lewis and Co., 13, Finsbury Place, South. M. DCCC. XLV.

Buraston or Boreaston Gregory Shropshire Gazetteer 1824

Buraston; or Boreaston. A township in the parish of Burford, and in the hundred of Overs. 7 miles south-west of Ludlow. Buraston and Whetmore townships contain 46 houses, 226 inhabitants.

Source: The Shropshire Gazetteer, with an Appendix, including a Survey of the County and Valuable Miscellaneous Information, with Plates. Printed and Published by T. Gregory, Wem, 1824.

Parish Records

Poll Books

Boraston and Whatmore, Shropshire, Poll Book 1865

Below are the names of those that voted in the election of July 1865 between Col. The Hon. P. E. Herbert, Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., and R. Jasper More, Esq.

Poll Book of the Election, July 1865 for the Southern Division of Shropshire.

Cleobury Mortimer Polling District

Boraston and Whatmore — Townships of

1415 Amies Samuel

1416 Arthur John

1417 Lucas Benjamin

1418 MacLoughlin Rev. Hubert

1419 Meakin Richard

1420 Millichamp John

1421 Mytton William

1422 Mytton James

1423 Mytton Thomas

1424 Reynolds William

1425 Smith John

1426 Stiff William Phillimore, see 503, 861

1427 Wood William


  • County: Shropshire
  • Civil Registration District: Tenbury
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Hereford
  • Rural Deanery: Burford
  • Poor Law Union: Tenbury
  • Hundred: Overs
  • Province: Canterbury

Similar Posts