Bettws y Crwyn is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Shropshire, created in 1764 from a chapelry in Clun Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Kevencalanog, Kevengalanog, Rhyd-y-cwm, Trebrodier, Rugantine, and Rhugantin.

Parish church: St. Mary

Parish registers begin: 1695

Nonconformists include: Baptist

Parishes adjacent to Bettws y Crwyn

Historical Descriptions

The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales 1851

Bettus, a parish in the hund. of Clunn, county of Salop; 7 miles north-west of Knighton. Living, a perpetual curacy in the archd. of Salop and dio. of Hereford; valued at £20; gross income £57. Patron, in 1835, the Earl of Powis. Pop., in 1801, 308; in 1831, 389. Houses 59. Acres 8,500. A.P. £2,159. Poor rates, in 1837, £203.

Source: The Parliamentary Gazetteer of England and Wales; A Fullarton & Co. Glasgow; 1851.

A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848

BETTUS (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Knighton, hundred of Purslow, S. division of Salop, 6 miles (N. W.) from Knighton; containing, with the townships of Rugantine and Trebodier, and part of Kevencalonog, 452 inhabitants. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £57; patron and impropriator, the Earl of Powis.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis 1848

Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales 1850

Bettus, 6 m. N.W. Knighton. P. 452

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Gregory Shropshire Gazetteer 1824

Bettus; or Bettws. A parish in the Mainstone division of the hundred of Clun, a curacy not in charge, chapel to Clun, in the diocese of Hereford, the deanery of Clun, and archdeaconry of Salop. 56 houses, 341 inhabitants. 9 miles south-west of Bishopscastle.

Source: The Shropshire Gazetteer, with an Appendix, including a Survey of the County and Valuable Miscellaneous Information, with Plates. Printed and Published by T. Gregory, Wem, 1824.

Parish Records

Poll Books

Bettws Shropshire Poll Book 1865

Below are the names of those that voted in the election of July 1865 between Col. The Hon. P. E. Herbert, Sir Baldwin Leighton, Bart., and R. Jasper More, Esq.

Poll Book of the Election, July 1865 for the Southern Division of Shropshire.

Clun Polling District

Bettws, Parish of

1772 Brown Jones Richard, see 1775

1773 Beddoes George

1774 Bowen John

1775 Brown Richard, see 1772

1776 Cadwallader Thomas

1777 Carter Isaac

1778 Carter Joseph

1779 Carter Robert, see 1881

1780 Chandler Joseph

1781 Collins John

1782 Davies William, jun.

1783 Evans William

1784 Francis Edward

1785 Gwilliam William, dead

1786 Hamer Richard (same as 1787)

1787 Hamer Richard (same as 1786)

1788 Hamer Timothy

1789 Hamer Thomas

1790 Hamer George

1791 Hammons George

1792 Hanmer Charles James

1793 Harris James

1794 Harris John

1795 Harris Richard

1796 Howells William

1797 Hughes William, jun.

1798 Hudson Richard

1799 Jones Herbert

1800 Jones Edward

1801 Lewis Thomas

1802 Lloyd John

1803 Lloyd John

1804 Lloyd Thomas

1805 Lloyd Henry

1806 Lloyd George

1807 Mantle Richard

1808 Mantle Thomas

1809 Matthews David

1810 Morris Edward Rowley

1811 Morris John

1812 Moore Robert

1813 Naylor John, see 179

1814 Owen Edward, see 279

1815 Owen Edward

1816 Owen Henry

1817 Pargeter William John

1818 Price Edward

1819 Price William

1820 Pryce Evan

1821 Pritchard William

1822 Richards William, see 2206

1823 Richards John, see 2032

1824 Richards Dayus Samuel (same as 1825)

1825 Richards Samuel (same as 1824)

1826 Whital John

1827 Whittall Samuel


  • County: Shropshire
  • Civil Registration District: Knighton
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Hereford
  • Rural Deanery: Clun
  • Poor Law Union: Knighton
  • Hundred: Clun
  • Province: Canterbury

Similar Posts