Cambo is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1844 from Hartburn Ancient Parish.

Alternative names:

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1843
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: None

Nonconformists include: Methodist New Connexion and Primitive Methodist.

Adjacent Parishes

  • Kirkwhelpington
  • Hartburn

Parish History

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

CAMBO, a township and a chapelry in Hartburn parish, Northumberland. The township lies near an affluent of the river Wansbeck, and near the Wansbeck Valley railway, in the vicinity of Scot’s Gap station, 11 miles SE by S of Otterburn; and has a post office under Newcastle-upon-Tyne. Acres, 630. Pop., 111. Houses, 26. The chapelry is much more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1844. Rated property, £7,697. Pop., 780. Houses, 151. The property is divided between two. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Durham. Value, £118. Patron, the Vicar of Hartburn. The church is good.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848

CAMBO, a township, in the parish of Hartburn, union of Morpeth, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 11½ miles (W.) from Morpeth; containing 99 inhabitants. The township comprises 630 acres, of which the greater part is rich pasture-land. The village is on the road from Hexham to Alnwick: there is a small subscription library. The tithes have been commuted for £17. 10. payable to the impropriator, and £19 to the vicar of Hartburn. A district chapel has been built, the living of which is in the gift of the Vicar. Launcelot Brown, the landscape gardener, received his early education here. In the village are the ruins of a peel-house, or fortalice.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis 1848


  • County: Northumberland
  • Civil Registration District: Morpeth
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Durham
  • Rural Deanery: Morpeth
  • Poor Law Union: Morpeth
  • Hundred: Tynedale Ward
  • Province: York

Similar Posts