The County of Northumberland

Northumberland is bounded, North by Berwickshire in Scotland, East by the German Ocean, South by Durham, and West by Roxburgh in Scotland, and by Cumberland. It is 62 miles in length, and about 42 miles m breadth, and is divided into six Wards: Bamborough, Castle, Coquetdale, Glendale, Morpeth, and Tynedale. Rivers; the Tyne, the Blyth, the Wansbeck, the Coquet, the Alne, and the Tweed. It has 13 Market-Towns; is in the Province of York, in the Diocese of Durham, and in the Northern Circuit. It contains 1871 square miles, or 1,197,440 acres. Population, 250,278

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Northumberland Towns & Villages

Norham Northumberland – Beeton’s British Gazetteer 1870

NORHAM, a township of England, situated on the Tweed, in the county of Northumberland, 6 miles S.W. from its post town, Berwick. It has a money ord. 0ff. Pop. 3783. It is a station on the Kelso and Tweedmouth line of the North-Eastern Railway, 15¾ miles from Kelso, and 7¾ miles from Berwick.

Source: Beeton’s British Gazetteer 1870. Ward, Lock & Tyler, Paternoster Row, London.

John Bird – North Shields Northumberland & Chester-le-street Durham – London Gazette 1850

Last updated on April 20th, 2017

In Re John Bird, formerly of North Shields, in the county of Northumberland, Linen and Woollendraper, Hatter, Hosier, &c. but now of Chester-le-street, in the county of Durham, against whom a Fiat, bearing date the 28th day of March 1846, was duly issued. I HEREBY give notice, that a First Dividend at the rate of 9s. 6d. in the pound may be received by all the creditors who have proved their debts under the above estate, at my office, Royal-arcade, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, on Saturday the 20th instant, or on any subsequent Saturday, between the hours of ten and three of the clock. No dividend will be paid without the production of every security exhibited at the time of proving the debt. Executors and administrators will be required to produce the probate of the will or the letters of administration under which they claim.-April 12, 1850. THOMAS BAKER, Official Assignee, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Robert Robson – Bankruptcy – Newcastle-upon-Tyne – London Gazette 1850

Last updated on April 20th, 2017

Freehold ground for sale, Ord-street, Scotswood-road, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. TO be sold by auction (pursuant to the Order of Nathaniel Ellison, Esq. a Commissioner of the Court of Bankruptcy), at the Turf Hotel Inn, Collingwood-street, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, on Friday, the 26th day of April instant, at five o’clock in the afternoon, under a Petition for adjudication of Bankruptcy against Mr. Robert Robson; All that convenient freehold yard or piece of ground with the workshops and other erections thereon, situate at the back of Ord-street, Scotswood-road, in Newcastle-upon Tyne, lately in the occupation of the said Robert Robson, in his business as a Plasterer and Dealer in Cement. Particulars may be obtained at the offices of Mr. Wakley, Official Assignee; or of Mr. Hoggins, Auctioner, Royal arcade, Newcastle; or Mr. John Brown, Solicitor, Dean street; or Mr. Richard Lambert, Solicitor, Market-street, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Alnwick in Northumberland Bailey’s Northern Directory 1781

Camble James, linen and woollen draper

Cunningham David, grocer and brandy merchant

Dorset Francis and Co. cast iron founders, Bedlington furnace

Elder Ralph, grocer and brandy merchant

Forster Matthew, woollen draper and mercer

Hardy Thomas, linen and woollen draper Continue reading “Alnwick in Northumberland Bailey’s Northern Directory 1781”