Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire Family History Guide

Apethorpe with Woodnewton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northamptonshire, created in 1836 from Apethorpe Ancient Parish and Woodnewton Ecclesiastical Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Moorhay Lodge, Newton Wood, and Woodnewton.

Alternative names: Apethorpe

Parish church: 

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1676
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1605

Separate registers exist for Woodnewton

  • Parish registers: 1588
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1604

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist

Adjacent Parishes

  • Blatherwycke
  • King's Cliffe
  • Glapthorn
  • Yarwell
  • Fotheringhay
  • Deene
  • Southwick
  • Bulwick
  • Benefield
  • Nassington

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

APETHORPE, a parish in Oundle district, Northampton; on an affluent of the river Nen, 3¾ miles W by S of Elton r. station, and 5 SW of Wansford. It has a post office under Wansford; and it includes Moorhay Lodge in Rockingham forest, which some account extra parochial. Acres, 2,630. Real property, £4,335. Pop., 248. Houses, 56. Apethorpe Hall is the seat of the Earl of Westmoreland; has a statue of James I.; and was the place where that monarch first met his favourite Villiers. The living is a vicarage, united in 1868 to Woodnewton, in the diocese of Peterborough. Value, £300. Patron, the Bishop of P. The church is good, and contains a splendid monument to Sir W. Mildmay, Chancellor of the Exchequer in the time of Queen Elizabeth, and founder of Emmanuel college, Cambridge. Charities, £66.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Kelly Post Office Directory of Northamptonshire 1869 - Google Books

Kelly Post Office Directory of Northamptonshire 1885 - Archive.org


County: Northamptonshire
Civil Registration District: Oundle
Probate Court: Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Nassington, Post-1850 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Diocese: Peterborough
Rural Deanery: Pre-1851 - None, Post-1850 - Oundle
Poor Law Union: Oundle
Hundred: Willybrook
Province: Canterbury