Pemberton, Lancashire Family History Guide

Pemberton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1838 from Wigan All Saints Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Smity Brook, Newtown, Lamberhead Green, Green, and Goose.

Alternative names: Wigan Pemberton St John

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1832
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: None

Nonconformists include: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Methodist, Particular Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Adjacent Parishes

  • Standish
  • Wigan St George
  • Ashton in Makerfield
  • Wigan All Saints
  • Wigan St Catherine

Parish History

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

PEMBERTON, a village, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Wigan parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2½ miles W of Wigan; and has a station with telegraph on the railway, and a post-office under Wigan. The township comprises 2,868 acres. Real property, £31,319; of which £19,370 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 5,252; in 1861, 6,870. Houses, 1,314. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; contains Newtown, Smithy-Brook, Goose-Green, and Lamberhead-Green; and was constituted in 1838. Pop. in 1861, 8,853. Houses, 1,696. There are several good modern residences, an ancient half-timbered hall, coal-mines, stone-quarries, brick manufactories, cotton mills, and a famous spring. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £300. Patron, the Rector of Wigan. The church was built in 1832, and is a large brick edifice. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists, a mechanics’ institute, four national schools, and charities £14. The sub-district contains also twoother townships. Acres, 6,263. Pop., 10,435. Houses, 2,007.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Vision of Britain historical maps


  • County: Lancashire
  • Civil Registration District: Wigan
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Chester
  • Rural Deanery: Wigan
  • Poor Law Union: Wigan
  • Hundred: West Derby
  • Province: York