The County of Lancashire

Last updated on September 4th, 2017

Lancashire is bounded, North by Cumberland and Westmorland, East by Yorkshire, South by Cheshire, and West by the Irish Sea. It is about 74 miles in length, and about 44½ in breadth; and is divided into six Hundreds — Amounderness, Blackburn, Leyland, Lonsdale North of the Sands, Lonsdale South of the Sands, and Salford. Rivers: the Calder, the Duddon, the Crake, the Loyne, the Douglas, the Ribble, the Mersey, and the Irwell. It has 21 Market-Towns. Area 1,831 square miles, or 1,171,840 acres. It is in the Province of York, in the Diocese of Chester, and in the Northern Circuit. Population, 1,667,054.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Lancashire Towns & Villages

Continue reading “The County of Lancashire”