Watton at Stone is an Ancient Parish in the county of Hertfordshire.
Other places in the parish include: Wemstead.
Alternative names: Watton
Parish church: St. Mary and St. Andrew
Parish registers begin:
- Parish registers: 1560
- Bishop’s Transcripts: 1604
Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist
A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848
WATTON (St. Mary and St. Andrew), a parish, in the hundred of Broadwater, union and county of Hertford, 4¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Hertford; containing 920 inhabitants. It is situated on the old north road, and comprises 3499 acres, of which 378 are wood, and the remainder arable and pasture; the surface is hilly, and the scenery picturesque and beautiful. The river Beane runs through the parish. A pleasure-fair is held at Michaelmas. The living is a rectory, valued in the king’s books at £19. 8. 6½., and in the gift of Abel Smith, Esq.; the tithes have been commuted for £700; there is a parsonage-house, and the glebe comprises 68 acres. The church has a square embattled tower, and a chapel is attached to the north side of the chancel. Sir William and Maurice Thompson, in 1662, founded a school, and endowed it with property now producing a rental of about £25 per annum: in 1818 a schoolroom was erected at the expense of Samuel and Abel Smith, Esqrs. A battle between the British and the Danes is said to have been fought near Broom Hall; and on the supposed line of a Roman vicinal way is a large stone, apparently of great antiquity.
Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis 1848
- County: Hertfordshire
- Civil Registration District: Hertford
- Probate Court: Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
- Diocese: Post-1844 – Rochester, Pre-1845 – Lincoln
- Rural Deanery: Pre-1845 – Hertford, Post-1844 – Welwyn
- Poor Law Union: Hertford
- Hundred: Broadwater
- Province: Canterbury