The County of Essex

Essex is bounded, North by Suffolk and Cambridgeshire, East by the German Ocean, South by Kent, and West by Hertford and Middlesex. It is 46 miles long and 40 broad; and divided into 19 hundreds, namely, Barstable, Becontree, Chafford, Chelmsford, Clavering, Dengie, Dunmow, Freshwell, Harlow, Hinckford, Lexden, Ongar, Rochford, Tendring, Thurstable, Uttlesford, Waltham, Winstree, and Witham, and the liberty of Havering. Rivers: the Thames, the Stour, the Coln, the Blackwater, and the Chelmer. It has 19 market towns. Area 1532 square miles, or 980,480 acres. Population, 344,979. It is in the Province of Canterbury, chiefly in the Diocese of London, but partly in that of Canterbury; and it is included in the Home Circuit.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Essex Towns & Villages