Witheridge Devon Family History Guide

Witheridge is an Ancient Parish in the county of Devon.

Other places in the parish include: Drayford.

Alternative names: Witheridge with Creacombe

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1586
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1607

Nonconformists include: Bible Christian Methodist and Independent/Congregational.

Adjacent Parishes

  • Creacombe
  • Lapford
  • Morchard Bishop
  • East Worlington
  • Rackenford
  • Woolfardisworthy East
  • Thelbridge
  • Cruwys Morchard
  • West Worlington
  • Templeton
  • Rose Ash

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

WITHERIDGE, a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred, in Devon. The village stands 7 miles ENE of Lapford r. station, and 8 E of Chulmleigh; was once a borough and a market-town; and has a post-office under Morchard-Bishop, North Devon, and three annual fairs. The parish comprises 9,048 acres. Real property, £6,657. Pop., 1,237. Houses, 260. The manor and much of the land belong to the Earl of Portsmouth; and the rest of the property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £350. Patron, the Rev. W. P. Thomas. The church is early perpendicular. There are chapels for Independents and Bible Christians, an endowed school with £21 a year, a British school, and charities £13. The antiquary Chapple was a native. The sub-district contains 10 parishes, and is in South Molton district. Acres, 48,070. Pop., 5,449. Houses, 1,073. The hundred contains 21 parishes. Acres, 79,797. Pop., 10,144. Houses, 2,062.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Parish Records

FamilySearch - Free

Birth Marriage and Death Records

England, Devon Bishop's Transcripts, 1558-1887

England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912

England, Devon, Parish Registers, 1538-1912


County: Devon
Civil Registration District: South Molton
Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Diocese: Exeter
Rural Deanery: South Molton
Poor Law Union: South Molton
Hundred: Witheridge
Province: Canterbury