Shaugh Prior, Devon Family History Guide

Shaugh Prior is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Devon, created in 1810 from chapelry in Plympton St Maurice Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Lee Moor.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1565

Nonconformists include: Presbyterian and Wesleyan Methodist.

Parishes adjacent to Shaugh Prior

  • Lydford
  • Bickleigh
  • Meavy
  • Cornwood
  • Egg Buckland
  • Plympton St Mary
  • Sheepstor

Historical Descriptions

Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Circa 1870

Shaugh-Prior, a village and a parish in Plympton-St. Mary district, Devon. The village stands on the river Plym, near the confluence of the Mew and the Cad, under the SW side of Dartmoor, 1 mile E of Bickleigh r. station, and 7 NE of Plymouth; is surrounded with very romantic scenery; and has a small inn. The parish comprises 8,707 acres. Post-town, Horrabridge, Devon. Real property, £3,022. Pop., 570. Houses, 100. The property is divided among a few. Shaugh bridge, Dewerstone rock, and the Dartmoor tors are striking features. Porcelain clay is extensively worked; iron and tin ores are mined; and fire bricks and sanitary ware are manufactured. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to Sampford-Spiney, in the diocese of Exeter. The church is ancient but good, and has a lofty tower. Charities, £12.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


  • County: Devon
  • Civil Registration District: Plympton St Mary
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Plympton
  • Poor Law Union: Plympton St Mary
  • Hundred: Plympton
  • Province: Canterbury