Plympton St. Mary, Devon Family History Guide

Plympton St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Devon.

Other places in the parish include: Colebrook, Hemerdon, Leemill Bridge, Ridgeway, Sparkwell, Underwood, and Venton.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1603

Nonconformists include: Independent/Congregational and Wesleyan Methodist.

Parishes adjacent to Plympton St. Mary

  • Plympton St Maurice
  • Shaugh Prior
  • Ivybridge
  • Brixton
  • Plymouth Charles
  • Yealmpton
  • Chelson Meadow
  • Plymstock
  • Cornwood
  • Egg Buckland
  • Laira Green
  • Ermington

Historical Descriptions

Plympton St. Mary

Leonard's Gazetteer of England and Wales 1850

Plympton (St. Mary), 1 mile N. Plympton-Earl. P. 2757

Source: Leonard's Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

Lee Mill Bridge

Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Circa 1870

Lee-Mill-Bridge, a hamlet in the SW of Devon, partly in Plympton-St. Mary parish, 4½ miles NE of Plymouth. It has a Wesleyan chapel.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


  • County: Devon
  • Civil Registration District: Plympton St Mary
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Plympton
  • Poor Law Union: Plympton St Mary
  • Hundred: Plympton
  • Province: Canterbury