Crediton, Devon Family History Guide

Crediton is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Devon. Sandford is a chapelry of Crediton.

Other places in the parish include: Uton, Woodland, Yeoford, Cannon Fee, Crediton Borough, Crediton Town, Knowle, Posbury, Rudge, and Ufford.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1557

Nonconformists include: Baptist, Bible Christian Methodist, Independent/Congregational, Plymouth Brethren, Presbyterian Unitarian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Unitarian, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Parishes adjacent to Crediton

  • Down St Mary
  • Oldridge
  • Shobrooke
  • Upton Hellions
  • Cheriton Bishop
  • Tedburn St Mary
  • Hittisleigh
  • Colebrooke
  • Sandford
  • Newton St Cyres

Historical Descriptions

Leonard's Gazetteer of England and Wales 1850

Crediton, 180 miles S.W. London, and 8 m. N.W. Exeter. Mrkt. Sat. P 5947

Source: Leonard's Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.


Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England 1845

Uton, a tything, in the parish, union and hundred of Crediton, Crediton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (WSW) from Crediton; containing 384 inhabitants.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis Fifth Edition Published London; by S. Lewis and Co., 13, Finsbury Place, South. M. DCCC. XLV.


  • County: Devon
  • Civil Registration District: Crediton
  • Probate Court: Court of the Peculiars of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Pre-1848 - None, Post-1847 - Kenn
  • Poor Law Union: Crediton
  • Hundred: Crediton
  • Province: Canterbury