Baslow Derbyshire Family History Guide

Baslow is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1770 from chapelry in Bakewell Ancient Parish. 

Other places in the parish include: Calver, Froggatt, Curbar, Rowland, Bubrell, Baslow with Bubnell, and Baslow and Bubnell. 

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1569
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1662

Nonconformists include: Primitive Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Adjacent Parishes

  • Beeley
  • Holmesfield
  • Longstone
  • Stony Middleton
  • Hathersage
  • Brampton
  • Bakewell
  • King Sterndale
  • Barlow
  • Edensor
  • Chatsworth

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

BASLOW, a village, a township, and a chapelry in Bakewell parish, Derby. The village stands on the river Derwent, in the northern vicinity of Chatsworth, 3½ miles NE of Bakewell r. station. It has a post office under Chesterfield, and a good inn; and it forms a pleasant centre to tourists for visiting Chatsworth and some of the most picturesque parts of the Peak district. A neat small Italian villa is at its east end. The township is united to Bubnell, under the name of Baslow-with Bubnell. Acres, 2,360. Real property, £4,004. Pop., 903. Houses, 191. The chapelry includes the township, but is more extensive. Rated property, £6,129. Pop., 2,400. The property is divided among a few. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £115. Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church stands at the village; and is neat and commodious. The churchyard contains some interesting slabs and stone coffins. There are a Unitarian chapel, two public schools, and charities £10.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Parish Records

England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1537-1918


County: Derbyshire
Civil Registration District: Bakewell
Probate Court: Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Diocese: Lichfield
Rural Deanery: Eyam
Poor Law Union: Bakewell
Hundred: High Peake
Province: Canterbury