The County of Derbyshire

Derbyshire is bounded, North by Yorkshire, East by Nottinghamshire, South by Leicestershire, and West by Staffordshire. It is about 50 miles long, and 38 broad; divided into six hundreds: — Appletree, High-Peake, Morleston and Litchurch, Repton and Gresley, Scarsdale, and Wirksworth. It has 12 Market-Towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, in the Diocese of Litchfield and Coventry, and in the Midland Circuit. It contains 1026 square miles, or 656,640 acres. Population, 212,211.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

Derbyshire Towns & Villages