Stanwix, Cumberland Family History Guide

Stanwix is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cumberland.

Other places in the parish include: Cargo, Etterby, Linstock, Rickerby, Stainton, and Tarraby.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1662

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist Association.

Parishes adjacent to Stanwix

  • Carlisle Holy Trinity
  • Carlisle St Mary
  • Scaleby
  • Grinsdale
  • Rockcliffe
  • Carlisle St Cuthbert
  • Crosby on Eden
  • Wetheral with Warwick
  • Kirkandrews on Eden with Beaumont
  • Houghton St John

Historical Descriptions


The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

STANWIX, a village, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Carlisle district, Cumberland. The village is suburban to Carlisle; stands on the Roman wall and on the river Eden, close to the bridge communicating with Carlisle; occupies the site of the Roman station Congavata; and has a post-office under Carlisle. The township comprises 425 acres. Real property, £4,998. Pop., 935. Houses, 226. The parish contains 7 other townships, and comprises 6,158 acres. Pop., 2,356. Houses, 514. The property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £300. Patron, the Bishop of C. The church was rebuilt in 1841; and was partly destroyed by fire, but restored in 1843. The rectory of Houghton is a separate benefice. There are a reformatory school, a national school, and charities £7. The sub-district includes two other parishes, and comprises 13,840 acres. Pop., 3,801. Houses, 812.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Lewis Topographical Dictionary of England 1845

TARRABY, a township, in the parish of STANWIX, union of CARLISLE, ESKDALE ward, E. division of Cumberland, 1 ¾ mile (N. N. E.) from Carlisle; containing 135 inhabitants.

Source: A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis Fifth Edition Published London; by S. Lewis and Co., 13, Finsbury Place, South. M. DCCC. XLV.


  • County: Cumberland
  • Civil Registration District: Carlisle
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Carlisle
  • Rural Deanery: Carlisle
  • Poor Law Union: Carlisle
  • Hundred: Cumberland Ward; Eskdale Ward
  • Province: York