Bromfield Cumberland Family History Guide

Bromfield is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cumberland.

Other places in the parish include: Blencogo, Bromfield, Crookdale and Scales, Crookdale, Dundraw, Dundraw and Kelsick, Dundraw, Kelsick and Wheyrigg, Langrigg, Mealrigg, and Scales.

Parish church:

Parish registers begin: 1654

Nonconformists include:

Parishes adjacent to Bromfield

  • Wigton
  • Allhallows
  • Allonby
  • Holme Cultram
  • Aspatria
  • Holme Low
  • Newton Arlosh
  • Bolton

Historical Descriptions


The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

BROMFIELD, a township and a parish in Wigton district, Cumberland. The township lies on an affluent of the river Waver, 2½ miles NW of Leegate r. station, and 6 W by S of Wigton. It includes the hamlets of Crookdale and Scales. Real property, £3,164. Pop., 411. Houses, 66. The parish contains also the townships of Blencogo, Langrigg and Mealrigg, Dundraw and Kelsick, and West Newton and Allonby; and has post offices of Langrigg under Carlisle and Allonby under Maryport. Acres, 14,644; of which 573 are water. Real property, £16,166. Pop., 2,269. Houses, 482. The property is much subdivided. The surface extends 9½ miles south-westward to the coast; and borrows character from the near perspective of the Caldbeck and Skiddaw mountains. Some remains exist of Mungo Castle. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £270. Patron, the Bishop of Carlisle. The church was restored in 1862. The chapelries of Allonby and West Newton are separate benefices. A grammar school, founded in 1612, has an endowed income of £41. Boucher, the antiquarian, was a native.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


A New and Comprehensive Gazetteer 1838

Mealrigg, tnshp. England, par. Broomfield, Allerdale ward, below Darwent, co. Cumberland. Real prop. £2113. Pop. (with Langrigg) 269. Wigton (P.T. 303).

Source: A New and Comprehensive Gazetteer: George Newenham Wright, 1838


  • County: Cumberland
  • Civil Registration District: Wigton
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
  • Diocese: Carlisle
  • Rural Deanery: Allerdale
  • Poor Law Union: Wigton
  • Hundred: Allerdale below Derwent Ward; Cumberland Ward
  • Province: York