Veryan Cornwall Family History Guide

Veryan is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

Other places in the parish include: Portloe.

Alternative names: Elerky

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1683
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1602

Nonconformists include: Bible Christian Methodist, Independent/Congregational, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Adjacent Parishes

Parish History

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

VERYAN, a parish in Truro district, Cornwall; on the coast, 3¾ miles S of Tregony, and 7½ S of Grampound-Road r. station. Post town, Grampound, Cornwall. Acres, 5,627; of which 35 are water. Real property, £6,767. Pop., 1,399. Houses, 346. The manor was known, at Domesday, as Elerkie; and belonged then to the Earl of Mortaigne. V. Bay is a semi-circular indentation between Nare Head and Dodman Point; measures about 5 miles along the chord; and is engirt with cliffs, exhibiting a fine section of Silurian rocks, in association with traps and conglomerates. V. Beacon measures 372 feet in circuit, and 370 feet in height; commands a good view; is traditionally regarded as the burial-place of Gerennius, a king of Cornwall in the 6th century; was opened in 1855; and was then found to contain a kistvaen. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £361. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of E. The church was rebuilt in 1848. There are three dissenting chapels, and charities £27.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Health and Housing

The following has been extracted from the Sanitary Enquiry of England 1842:

Mr. C. Doble, medical officer, St. Just district, Truro union:

“Contagious febrile disease was very prevalent in Veryan parish. A great number of cases arise from stagnant pools, accumulations of sea-weed, &c. The labourers generally keep a stagnant pool for the purpose of obtaining dung.”


Vision of Britain historical maps


  • County: Cornwall
  • Civil Registration District: Truro
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Powder
  • Poor Law Union: Truro
  • Hundred: Powder
  • Province: Canterbury