Paul Cornwall Family History Guide

Paul is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

Other places in the parish include: Mousehole.

Alternative names:

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1595
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1608

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist

Adjacent Parishes

Historical Descriptions


The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

PAUL, a parish in Penzance district, Cornwall; on Mounts bay, 2½ miles S of Penzance r. station. It tookits name from Paul de Leon, a Cornish man; it suffereddeva station from the Spaniards in 1593; and it contains the villages of Mousehole and Newlyn, which have post-offices under Penzance. Acres, 3,433. Real property, £9,199; of which £52 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 5,408; in 1861, 5,072. Houses, 1,095. The property is much subdivided. Paul hill rises with steep ascent, and commands a charming view. There are two ancientgranite crosses, and some remains of an ancient Britishcamp. Pilchard and mackerel fisheries are carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £485. Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church was given by Richard, king of the Romans, to Hailesabbey; has a fine granite tower, serving as a conspicuous landmark; contains monuments of the Godolphins, the Pendarveses, and others; and was reported in 1859 as not good. The churchyard contains the grave and monument of Dolly Penbreath, who died at the age of 91 in 1777, and is said to have been the last person who spoke the Cornish language. The p. curacy of Newlyn is a separate benefice. There are five dissenting chapels, a national school, alms-houses with £130 a year, and other charities £5.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Circa 1870

MOUSEHOLE, a village in St. Paul parish, Cornwall; on Mounts bay, 2 ¼ miles S of Penzance. It was formerly called Porth-Enys; was-once a market-town; was burned in 1595 by the Spaniards; is now a seat of the pilchard fishery; and has a post-office under Penzance, a coastguard station, and a Wesleyan chapel. St. Clement’s Island lies opposite the village near the shore; and had formerly a chapel. A charming terrace-road, with very fine views, goes along the margin of the bay from Mousehole to Penzance.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].

Parish Registers

Marriages at Paul 1595 to 1812 - View and Download Free


Vision of Britain historical maps


  • County: Cornwall
  • Civil Registration District: Penzance
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Penwith
  • Poor Law Union: Penzance
  • Hundred: Penwith
  • Province: Canterbury