Mount Hawke Cornwall Family History Guide

Mount Hawke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1846 from St Agnes Ecclesiastical Parish, and Illogan Ancient Parish.

Alternative names: St Agnes St John the Baptist

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

  • Parish registers: 1847
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: None

Nonconformists include: Wesleyan Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist Association.

Adjacent Parishes

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

MOUNT-HAWKE, a chapelry in the parishes of St. Agnes and Illogan, Cornwall; near the coast, 2½ miles N by W of Scorrier-Gate r. station, and 4¼ NNE of Redruth. It was constituted in 1846; and it has a postoffice under Scorrier. Pop. in 1861, 2,226. Houses, 465. Pop. of the St. Agnes portion, 2,024. Houses, 424. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £130. Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


Vision of Britain historical maps


  • County: Cornwall
  • Civil Registration District: Redruth; Truro
  • Probate Court: Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Pydar
  • Poor Law Union: Truro
  • Hundred: Penwith; Pyder
  • Province: Canterbury