Landrake with St Erney Cornwall Family History Guide

Landrake with St Erney is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

Other places in the parish include: Brightor and St Erney.

Alternative names: Landrake

Parish church:

Parish registers begin:

Landrake with St Erney

  • Parish registers: 1583
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1612

Separate registers exist for St Erney

  • Parish registers: 1555
  • Bishop’s Transcripts: 1673

Nonconformists include: Society of Friends/Quaker, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.

Adjacent Parishes

Historical Descriptions

The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales 1870

LANDRAKE, a village and a parish in St. Germans district, Cornwall. The village stands on the river Lynher, 3½ miles NE of St. Germans r. station; and has a post-office under St. Germans, and fairs on the first Wednesday of Feb., St. Peter’s day, 29 June, and the first Wednesday of Sept. The parish is a united one, and bears the name of Landrake-with-St. Erney. Acres, 3,745, of which 205 are water. Real property, £5,106. Pop. of Landrake proper, 714; of St. Erney, 79. Houses, 164 and 13. The property is subdivided. The manor belongs to the Earl of Mount Edgecumbe. The living is a double vicarage in the diocese of Exeter. Value, £300. Patron, the Earl of Mount Edgecumbe. The church is ancient but good; has a lofty turretted tower; and contains a monument to the Courtney family. There is a chapel of ease at St. Erney, an ancient building with low square tower. There are also chapels for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists, an endowed school with £80 a-year, and five alms-houses for women.

Source: The Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales [Wilson, John M]. A. Fullarton & Co. N. d. c. [1870-72].


People declared bankrupt and the date of bankruptcy.

Keast William, St. Emy, Cornwall, lime burner, March 8, 1823.


Vision of Britain historical maps


  • County: Cornwall
  • Civil Registration District: St Germans
  • Probate Court: Pre-1848 - Court of the Peculiars of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory), Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
  • Diocese: Exeter
  • Rural Deanery: Pre-1848 - None, Post-1847 - East
  • Poor Law Union: St Germans
  • Hundred: East (Cornwall)