Parishmouse - Cheshire


Cheshire is bounded North by Lancashire, East and South-East by Derbyshire and Staffordshire, South by Shropshire and part of Flintshire, and West by Denbighshire and part of Flintshire. About 58 miles long and 40 broad. There are seven hundreds; namely, Broxton, Bucklow, Eddisbury, Macclesfield, Nantwich, Northwich, and Wirral. Rivers: the Dee, the Weever, and the Mersey. It is in the Province of York and in the Diocese of Chester, and in the North-Wales Circuit. It contains 1052 square miles, or 673,280 acres. Population, 395,560.
Source:┬áLeonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Cheshire Towns & Villages