Cambridgeshire Family History Guide

"W. Ambrose Esq. paying last toll Burwell Nest Toll Bar, Cambs."
"W. Ambrose Esq. paying last toll Burwell Nest Toll Bar, Cambs."

Historical Descriptions

Cambridgeshire is bounded North by Lincolnshire, East by Norfolk and Suffolk, South by Essex and Hertfordshire, and West by Bedford and Huntingdon. It is about 40 miles long, and 25 broad. The hundreds are, Armingford, Chesterton, Cheveley, Chilford, Fiendish, Longstow, Northstow, Passworth, Radfield, Staine, Staploe, Triplow, Wetherley, Whittlesford, and the Isle of Ely. Rivers, — the Cam, the Nen, and the Ouse. It has ten market towns. It is in the Province of Canterbury, and principally in the Diocese of Ely, a small part only being in that of Norwich. It is in the Norfolk circuit. — Area, 858 square miles, or 549,120 acres. Population, 164,459.
Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850.

Parishes in Cambridgeshire


Abington Pigotts, Cambridgeshire

Arrington, Cambridgeshire

Ashley with Silverley, Cambridgeshire


Babraham, Cambridgeshire

Balsham, Cambridgeshire

Barrington, Cambridgeshire

Bartlow, Cambridgeshire

Barton, Cambridgeshire

Bassingbourn, Cambridgeshire

Benwick, Cambridgeshire

Bottisham, Cambridgeshire

Bourn, Cambridgeshire

Boxworth, Cambridgeshire

Brinkley, Cambridgeshire

Burrough Green, Cambridgeshire

Burwell, Cambridgeshire


Caldecote, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge All Saints (in the Jewry or by the Hospital), Cambridgeshire

Cambridge Holy Trinity, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Andrew the Great, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Andrew the Less, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Benedict, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Botolph, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Clement, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Edward King and Martyr, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Giles, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Mary the Great, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Mary the Less, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Michael, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Paul, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Peter (by the Castle or beyond the Bridge), Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Radegund, Cambridgeshire

Cambridge St Sepulchre, Cambridgeshire

Carlton cum Willingham, Cambridgeshire

Castle Camps, Cambridgeshire

Caxton, Cambridgeshire

Chatteris, Cambridgeshire

Cherry Hinton, Cambridgeshire

Chesterton, Cambridgeshire

Chettisham, Cambridgeshire

Cheveley, Cambridgeshire

Childerley, Cambridgeshire

Chippenham, Cambridgeshire

Coates, Cambridgeshire

Comberton, Cambridgeshire

Conington, Cambridgeshire

Coton, Cambridgeshire

Cottenham, Cambridgeshire

Coveney, Cambridgeshire

Croxton, Cambridgeshire

Croydon cum Clapton, Cambridgeshire


Doddington, Cambridgeshire

Dry Drayton, Cambridgeshire

Dullingham, Cambridgeshire

Duxford, Cambridgeshire


East Hatley, Cambridgeshire

Elm, Cambridgeshire

Elsworth, Cambridgeshire

Eltisley, Cambridgeshire

Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire

Ely College, Cambridgeshire

Ely Holy Trinity, Cambridgeshire

Ely St Mary, Cambridgeshire


Fen Ditton, Cambridgeshire

Fen Drayton, Cambridgeshire

Fordham, Cambridgeshire

Fowlmere, Cambridgeshire

Foxton, Cambridgeshire

Fulbourn All Saints, Cambridgeshire

Fulbourn St Vigoris, Cambridgeshire


Gamlingay, Cambridgeshire

Girton, Cambridgeshire

Grantchester, Cambridgeshire

Graveley, Cambridgeshire

Great Abington, Cambridgeshire

Great Eversden, Cambridgeshire

Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire

Great Wilbraham, Cambridgeshire

Grunty Fen, Cambridgeshire

Guilden Morden, Cambridgeshire


Haddenham, Cambridgeshire

Hardwick, Cambridgeshire

Harlton, Cambridgeshire

Harston, Cambridgeshire

Haslingfield, Cambridgeshire

Hatley St George, Cambridgeshire

Hauxton, Cambridgeshire

Helion Bumpstead, Essex and Cambridgeshire

Hildersham, Cambridgeshire

Hinxton, Cambridgeshire

Histon, Cambridgeshire

Horningsea, Cambridgeshire

Horseheath, Cambridgeshire


Ickleton, Cambridgeshire

Impington, Cambridgeshire

Isleham, Cambridgeshire


Kennett, Cambridgeshire

Kingston, Cambridgeshire

Kirtling, Cambridgeshire

Knapwell, Cambridgeshire


Land Common to Ely Holy Trinity and Ely St Mary, Cambridgeshire

Landbeach, Cambridgeshire

Landwade, Cambridgeshire

Leverington, Cambridgeshire

Linton, Cambridgeshire

Litlington, Cambridgeshire

Little Abington, Cambridgeshire

Little Downham, Cambridgeshire

Little Eversden, Cambridgeshire

Little Gransden, Cambridgeshire

Little Shelford, Cambridgeshire

Little Wilbraham, Cambridgeshire

Littleport, Cambridgeshire

Lolworth, Cambridgeshire

Long Stanton All Saints, Cambridgeshire

Long Stanton St Michael, Cambridgeshire

Longstowe, Cambridgeshire


Madingley, Cambridgeshire

Manea, Cambridgeshire

March, Cambridgeshire

Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Meldreth, Cambridgeshire

Mepal, Cambridgeshire

Milton, Cambridgeshire


Newmarket, Cambridgeshire

Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire

Newton (near Harston), Cambridgeshire

Newton in the Isle, Cambridgeshire


Oakington, Cambridgeshire

Orwell, Cambridgeshire

Outwell, Cambridgeshire

Over, Cambridgeshire


Pampisford, Cambridgeshire

Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire

Papworth Everard, Cambridgeshire

Parson Drove, Cambridgeshire

Peterborough St John the Baptist, Cambridgeshire


Quy, Cambridgeshire


Rampton, Cambridgeshire

Royston, Hertfordshire and Cambridgeshire


Sawston, Cambridgeshire

Shepreth, Cambridgeshire

Shudy Camps, Cambridgeshire

Snailwell, Cambridgeshire

Soham with Barway, Cambridgeshire

Stanground, Huntingdonshire and Cambridgeshire

Stapleford, Cambridgeshire

Steeple Morden, Cambridgeshire

Stetchworth, Cambridgeshire

Stretham, Cambridgeshire

Stuntney, Cambridgeshire

Sutton, Cambridgeshire

Swaffham Bulbeck, Cambridgeshire

Swaffham Prior, Cambridgeshire

Swavesey, Cambridgeshire


Tadlow, Cambridgeshire

Teversham, Cambridgeshire

Thetford, Cambridgeshire

Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire

Thriplow, Cambridgeshire

Toft, Cambridgeshire

Trumpington, Cambridgeshire

Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire


Upwell, Cambridgeshire


Waterbeach, Cambridgeshire

Welches Dam, Cambridgeshire

Welney, Cambridgeshire

Wendy with Shingay, Cambridgeshire

Wentworth, Cambridgeshire

West Wickham, Cambridgeshire

West Wratting, Cambridgeshire

Westley Waterless, Cambridgeshire

Weston Colville, Cambridgeshire

Whaddon, Cambridgeshire

Whittlesey St Andrew, Cambridgeshire

Whittlesey St Mary, Cambridgeshire

Whittlesford, Cambridgeshire

Wicken, Cambridgeshire

Wilburton, Cambridgeshire

Willingham, Cambridgeshire

Wimblington, Cambridgeshire

Wimpole, Cambridgeshire

Wisbech St Augustine, Cambridgeshire

Wisbech St Mary, Cambridgeshire

Wisbech St Peter and St Paul, Cambridgeshire

Witcham, Cambridgeshire

Witchford, Cambridgeshire

Wood Ditton, Cambridgeshire

This article was updated on November 9, 2020