Berkshire Family History Guide

Table of Contents

Berkshire is bounded north by Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire being separated from them by the Thames; east by Surrey; South by Hampshire; West and Northwest by Wiltshire and Gloucestershire. It is about 40 miles long and 30 broad, containing 756 square miles, and 483,840 statute acres. Rivers, the Thames, the Kennett, the Loddon,
the Ock, and the Lambourn. Berkshire is in the Province of Canterbury; in the diocese of Salisbury; and in the Oxford circuit. It is divided into 20 hundreds, named as follows: Beynhurst, Bray, Charlton, Compton, Cookham, Faircross, Faringdon,Ganfield, Hormer, Kintbury-Eagle, Lambourn, Moreton, Ock, Reading, Ripplesmere, Shrivenham, Sonning, Theasle, Wantage, Wargrave. There are 148 parishes, and 12 market-towns.
Population, 161,147.

Source: Leonard’s Gazetteer of England and Wales; Second Edition; C. W. Leonard, London; 1850

Read more about The County of Berkshire

Berkshire Parishes























Berkshire Hundreds

The following is a list of the hundreds in the county, with the parishes contained in each :—

Hundred of Beynhurst — Bisham, Bray, Hurley, Remenham, Shottesbrook, and White Waltham.

Hundred of Charlton — Barkham, Broad Hinton, Earley, Finchamstead,
Hartley Dummer, Shinfleld, Swallowfield (part of), and

Hundred of Compton — Aldworth, Catmore, Chilton, Compton or Compton
Parva, East Ilsley or Market Ilsley, Farnborough or Farmborough, and
West Ilsley.

Hundred of Cookham — Binfield, Cookham, and Sunninghill.

Hundred of Faircross — Bagley Wood, Beedon, Boxford, Brightwaltham,
Brimpton, Chandlings Farm, Chieveley, Frilsham, Greenham, Hampstead
Norris, Leckhampstead, Midgham, Peasemore, Sandleford,
Shaw-cum-Donnington, Speen, Stanford Dingley, Wasing, Welford,
Winterbourn, and Yattendon.

Hundred of Faringdon — Great Coxwell, Great Faringdon (part of), and Little Coxwell.

Hundred of Ganfield — Buckland, Charney, Hatford, Hinton Waldrist, Longworth, Pusey, Shellingford, and Stamford-in-the-Vale.

Hundred of Hormer — Besselsleigh, Cholsall, Cumnor, Kennington,
Northcourt, North Hinksey, Radley, St. Helen (Abingdon), Sandford,
Seacourt, Shippon, South Hinksey, Sunningwell, Thrupp and Wick, Wootton,
and Wytham.

Hundred of Kintbury Eagle — Avington, Chaddleworth, Chilton Foliatt
(part of), East Challow, East Shefford, Enborne, Fawley, Hampstead
Marshall, Hungerford, Inkpen, Kintbury, Letcombe Basset, Letcombe Regis,
Shalbourn (part of), West Challow, West Shefford, and West Woodhay.

Hundred of Lambourn — Blagrave, East Garston, Eastbury and Bockhampton, Hadley, and Lambourn.

Hundred of Moreton— Allhallows (Wallingford), Ashampstead, Aston
Tirrold, Aston Upthorpe, Basildon, Brightwell, Clapcot, Didcot or
Dudcott, East Hagbourne, Harwell, Moulsford, North Moreton, Sotwell,
South Moreton, Streatley, Upton with Nottingham Fee, and West Hagbourne.

Hundred of Ock — Appleford, Appleton and Eaton, Denchworth (part of),
Draycot Moor, Drayton, Frilford, Fyfield, Garford, Goosey, Kingston
Bagpuize, Little Witenham, Long Wittenham, Lyford, Marcham, Milton,
Steventon, Sutton Courtney, Sutton Wick, and Tubney.

Hundred of Reading — Beenham Vallence, Blewberry, Bucklebury,
Cholsey, Graizeley or Grasley, Paugbourn, St. Giles (Reading), St.
Lawrence (Reading), St. Mary (Reading), Southcot, Sulhampstead Abbots,
Swallowfield (part of), Thatcham, Tilehurst, and Whitley.

Hundred of Ripplesmere — Clewer, Dedworth, Easthampstead, Old Windsor, and Winkfield with Ascot.

Hundred of Shrivenham — Ashbury, Balking, Beckett, Bourton, Buscot,
Coleshill, Compton Beauchamp, Eaton Hastings, Fernham, Great Faringdon
(part of), Idstone, Kingston Lisle with Fawler, Kingstone Winslow,
Longcot, Odstone, Shrivenham, Utfington, Watchfleld, and Woolstone.

Hundred of Sonning — Arborfleld, Newland, Ruscombe, Sandhurst, Sonnington, Winnersh, Wokingham and Woodley, with Sandford.

Hundred of Theale — Aldermaston, Bradfield, Burghfield, Englefield,
Padworth, Purley, Stratfield Mortimer, Sulham, Sulhampstead Bannister,
Tidmarsh, Ufton or Ufton Nervet, Wokefleld, and Woolhampton.

Hundred of Wantage — Ardington, Charlton, Childrey, Denchworth (part
of), East Hanney, East Hendred, East Lockinge, Grove, Sparsholt,
Wantage, West Hanney, West Hendred, West Lockinge.

Hundred of Wargrave — Waltham St. Lawrence, Warfleld, and Wargrave.

Borough of Abingdon — St. Helen and St. Nicholas.

Borough of Maidenhead — Maidenhead.

Borough of Newbury — Newbury.

Borough of New Windsor — New Windsor.

Borough of Reading — St. Giles, St. Lawrence, and St. Mary.

Borough of Wallingford — Allhallows, St. Leonard, St. Mary-le-More, St. Peter, and Wallingford Castle Precinct.


Post Office Directory of Northamptonshire, Huntingdonshire,
Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and Oxfordshire; E. R. Kelly;
Kelly & Co., London. 1869.